EPA scraps ozone plans

The Environmental Protection Agency has gone back to the drawing board with its plans for the National Ambient Air Quality Standards for Ozone. In a letter to the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee, Administrator Michael Regan stated that he was announcing a new review of the ozone standards.

NAAQS and ozone

Under the Clean Air Act (CAA), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is required to set National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for six different “criteria air pollutants.” These common pollutants are carbon monoxide, lead, particulate matter (PM), ozone, nitrogen dioxide, and sulfur dioxide. The CAA requires that the EPA periodically review these standards to ensure that each one provides adequate protection for public health and the environment.

Fill out the form to read the full article.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap